TEACHERS’ DAY SERVICE

14 May

…..not the hand clapping, feet stomping, Holy Ghost sanctify Service.

The action all unfolded on    Wednesday May 8, 2013.

I jumped out of the bed, made several 360 degree turns; didn’t know where I was…l… my disoriented mind struggled to assemble its thoughts.  30 seconds later I became aware of the alarm clock and its annoying sound that pierced my ears and left my head pounding.    I snatched it and was tempted to throw it in the wall but decided against it because by this time, my head was clear enough to know that would have been a silly action.  It was 5:30 a.m.

I lazily dragged myself around the house. I checked the time. 6:00 a.m  Oh my God! How time flies. (PING) I pressed the fast forward button. I had to be out of the house by 6:30 a.m   You may ask why the rush. Let me explain.  It was a special day. TEACHER’S DAY!   As president of the School’s Staff Association,  I planned a treat for ‘my’ staff.  This meant I had to get to work before everyone else. So you see, the rush was on. Luckily for my talent in speeding (not even Usain Bolt could beat me) I was out of the house by 6:30 a.m

As I quickly made my way down Wellington Glade and Old Hope Road, through New Kingston and into Half Way Tree,  I silently sang “Jesus Take the Wheel” and prayed the police decided to sleep in that morning. Again, luckily for me, the red seams were nowhere to be found. 6:42 a.m.  I drove through the school gate.  I didn’t arrive before everyone but I arrived before most.  I immediately got to work.

As I admired the décor done by a fellow colleague, I was excited. What was more exciting were the delightful facial expressions at what they saw.    To make them feel special, I had the caterers whipped up a good old Jamaican breakfast of fried dumpling, callaloo, baked bean with salted fish and escoveished fish.   My my!  It was tasty. As they made their way to the buffet table, some beautiful soulful music resonated in their ears. Gosh! They were happy. I realized I was happy too. I was grinning from ear to ear. I was happy because ‘my ‘ staff was happy and I contributed.

Thats mee!....basking in my role as a server.

Thats mee!….basking in my role as a server.

To Serve or Be Served, That’s the Question

Part of their happiness was attributed to their anticipated ‘outing’ to the lush parish of Portland.  With feelings of ambivalence  I watched them preparing in anticipation of this.  I was happy to see the staff morale but I was sad because I was not going to be on the trip.  You see, I have been apart of the curriculum review process for the last year and we are into the final stretch and my presence is crucial.  “you really not coming Miss Reid? On a day like today to going curriculum review? No sah. The ministry fi giv unno today off”.    I smiled.   Like an epiphany it dawned on me that “some of us are meant to serve.   According to the online dictionary the word “serve” means “to perform duties or services for another person or organization.”     I provided service to the organization by treating the staff on this their special day; now I was about to go serve the nation in another.  I smiled inwardly as I recognized and accepted my purpose.

8:45 a.m.  The buses issued with the task of transporting the teachers to their day of frolicking drove in.  Excited high pitched voices filled with laughter shouted to each other in jest or other form.  They were like young children going to the fun park.  I envied them.   I watched them quickly take their places.  9:20a.m.     The buses left.  As the last bus disappeared, my heart sank a little.  I slouched to the car. My journey, my mind was a ‘bank’ of thoughts.

10:30.a.m   I walked into the big hall where it was all happening and I saw several other teachers like myself.  I was heartened. I smiled. My spirit was lifted.  My mind reminded me “some of us were meant to serve”.   I went to my station and got busy.

Dr. Brian Heap along with my other colleagues
Dr. Brian Heap along with my other colleagues
educators @ curriculum review.....Room full; hall full; cannot get a spoonful.

educators @ curriculum review…..Room full; hall full; cannot get a spoonful.

3:30 p.m.    We were treated to a concert and great food by the core curriculum unit. So guess what, we were not forgotten.

The education sector has many facets. As educators we serve. Some of us like myself are fortunate –some may say unfortunate- to serve in several areas at once.  The truth is, some of us cannot run from our purpose in life.  Some will be served while others serve. At some point in our lives, we take on one role or another.   Education system NEED people who are servers.  This is how we are going to build our human resource-through Education.

My question to you is:  are you a server or one to be served?  Please leave a comment to say who you are.      If you are not sure and want to find out, contact rainereid@gmail.com     A session on “Who am I” awaits you.

One Response to “TEACHERS’ DAY SERVICE”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. HOLY CHILDHOOD HIGH SCHOOL FEELS THE SPIRIT | Rainereid's Educators Block - October 2, 2014

    […] imagine-NINTY-EIGHT PERCENT!!!!  (that’s for another article) and if you read my article about Teachers’ Day Service you would see what am talking […]

Leave a Reply

