HOLY CHILDHOOD HIGH SCHOOL FEELS THE SPIRIT

18 May

… in the name of the father, the son and Holy spirit, Amen

That’s a familiar phrase you will hear if you should happen to be on the compound of Holy Childhood high School at 7:40 a.m, 11:40 a.m, and 2:30 p.m .  YES!  Prayers are said three times per day- morning offering, noon-day prayer, dismissal prayer.

you can never miss this wall

you can never miss this wall

Despite being a catholic institution; despite being aggressively religious; despite praying three times a day…there was no spirit.  In essence you could say all that existed was the father and the son…where the spirit was, couldn’t tell… must have been gobbled up by the Grinch.

For about five years I watched the numbers dwindle…lower and lower and lower they went…. What do I mean by this?

Both staff and students had lost zest  to voluntarily participate in school activities .  In essence there was no school morale.  How can there be a school without SCHOOL SPIRIT?    When I was attending Clarendon College…. Let me not digress but I know you will agree with me that this is one of the worst  things that could befall an institution.  Sports day, handful of students; staff outings, handful of teachers other events, all handful.  The events that would get most of the support would be dance off held by the sixth form body and the school’s annual barbecue. I can’t help but recall my high school moments as I write this.     It was disheartening… so the quest began with a team…the quest to unearth and regain that which was lost.

The journey started bearing fruit… Over the last four years,  students involvement grew… teachers involvement grew… how did we know this?   Schools events were once again populated with staff and student.  Sports day, staff versus student netball, monthly lymes, they were all back The school’s long service award ceremony in December 2012 in a major evidence- 98% of the staff was present.  Can you imagine-NINTY-EIGHT PERCENT!!!!  (that’s for another article) and if you read my article about Teachers’ Day Service you would see what am talking about.

a sneak peek @ the long service award ceremony

a sneak peak @ the long service award ceremony…as far as the eyes can see, there are people.

So we knew the spirit was lurking in the shadows…we could feel it and see it But if there were any doubt as to the spirit, Thursday May 16, 2013 erased them all.

It was the penultimate day….

As I alighted from my car, I heard loud shouts of excitement. I was taken aback because noise of such nature was forbidden by Sister’. We all know how quiet our nuns can be.  I briskly walked towards the office.  Another uproar. I almost broke into a run when a student said “miss, where is your uniform?”   Still eager to see what was happening I continued.  Upon entering the staffroom, I saw a sea of students. As I was about to get in teacher mode to voice my disapproval about students being inside the staffroom, a familiar face turned to me and said “so miss Reid, why you not wearing your uniform”    they saw the relief on my face and in my body and  burst into a fit of laughter.   As I watched the camaraderie, it looked good and it felt good.

Spirit inna dem...Can you believe those are ALL teachers?

Spirit inna dem…Can you believe those are ALL teachers?

Wait, penultimate day to what?   Penultimate day to child’s day and the quest was still on to ensure spirit returned with full force and sustainability, so it was decided by the team to have all staff members dressed as students for the day…the kids had a BLAST!    What was most interesting was the fact that Holy Childhood High is an all-girls institution, BUT the males dressed as students in their Khaki pants, white shirts and ties.    Can you imagine the screams and giggles when the girls saw them?  Why wasn’t I apart of it?  Well, I was. I just didn’t get to put on uniform and look like a teenager.  The curriculum review process was still in progress so I could only participate by assisting with planning and coordinating. Yes! Even at a distance I can.

male teachers @ holy Childhood High for  girls!!! or should I now cay boys or co-ed?

male teachers @ holy Childhood High for girls!!! or should I now say boys or co-ed?

As the spirit moved, and touched student teachers, administrators, the school was a buzz of excitement leading into the next; the main day.  Friday May 17, 2013, was a day not to forget.  The school ground was a sea of blue and yellow girls beautifully attired; All chatted excitedly in anticipation of their child’s day celebration: Displays, treat, horse riding show by Jamaica Constabulary Force and ultimate, a STAFF CONCERT.   Laughs, screams, shouts of encore as they watched the school community entertained them through dances, songs, fashion show, poetry, etc…

By the end, the teachers were spiri-toxicated; students were spiri-toxicated;  they all left school filled with the spirit…

Having been part of the planning process, what was most satisfying was the commitment, participation and integration among teachers, administration and ancillary staff in this venture.

A school cannot exist without morale.  Administrators and staff must find creative ways to build and sustain school morale to enhance school climate.

What are the benefits of school morale?

Want ideas or conceptual development as to how to improve school morale?

Need these answers? Look no further.  Contact rainereid@gmail.com  We will guide you to the “spirit well”

We started with prayer, we will end with prayer:

Let us pray …Gentle Jesus meek and mild…which is the best high school and why… in the name of the father, the son and Holy spirit…bless our staff and students with school spirit forthwith.

8 Responses to “HOLY CHILDHOOD HIGH SCHOOL FEELS THE SPIRIT”

  1. aaliyah December 25, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    This is really a school of spirit I know what ie choose as my first choice now

    • rainereid December 25, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Aaliyah. Yes it is a good choice.

  2. Dee June 5, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

    A poignant moment. I was enthralled by the figurative languages; they appeal to my sense of sight and captured my imagination .lalalalaaa.HCH WITH FLAVA.

    • rainereid June 5, 2014 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks for stoppping by Dee to share your thoughts. I am happy I was able to communicate with you with such imagery. Feel free to stop by at other times. It is good to hear from you.

  3. qhetz Bakklewizvua October 2, 2014 at 2:26 am #

    You can say whatever you want, but since the ghetto people stated going to those schools, they are gone to the dogs. They want everything for free. Blacks are the same every where.

    • rainereid October 2, 2014 at 3:46 am #

      Thanks for your contribution qhetz….there is hope for our schools. My charge charge to you is that you identify the role you can play in this education transformation process

    • Love Purpose Ministry Passion May 12, 2015 at 12:47 pm #

      Let us not discrimiate, being educated and uplifted is not determined by your address but ones state of mind and drive.

      • rainereid May 13, 2015 at 2:14 am #

        I agree with you Love Purpose Ministry Passion

Leave a Reply

