SOME HAD THIS TO SAY ABOUT TEACHERS. WHAT SAY YOU?

12 Jul

Respect to all teachers.

I sat at the computer, fingers accurately  massaging the keys on the keyboard as I carefully navigated the world wide web.  “I have to find back this article” I whispered aloud as I frustratedly shook my feet. My eyes searched agitatedly. I hissed my teeth. I could feel the frustrating spreading slowly to the rest of my body…. then the content of the screen changed.  “what the hell just happened?”  I asked as if talking to someone.   I notice I was looking at a title that said “Quote about teachers”. I paused…. my finger must have clicked something accidentally that took me to this page. Cant say I’ sorry because…

I AM SUCKER FOR QUOTES. GOOD QUOTES.  I cant believe I just said that but there is no point denying what I am.  I must learn a new one everyday. All that said, let me get back to the matter at hand.   As I read,  I thought some of these quotes were excellent and thought they were worth sharing with you my readers.

Here goes:

“Those who educate children well are more to be honored than they who produce them; for these only gave them life, those the art of living well.”
Aristotle

“There are two kinds of teachers: the kind that fill you with so much quail shot that you can’t move, and the kind that just gives you a little prod behind and you jump to the skies.”
Robert Frost

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”
William Arthur Ward

“The world of literature has everything in it, and it refuses to leave
anything out. I have read like a man on fire my whole life because the
genius of English teachers touched me with the dazzling beauty of language.
Because of them I rode with Don Quixote and danced with Anna Karenina at a
ball in St. Petersburg and lassoed a steer in “Lonesome Dove” and had
nightmares about slavery in “Beloved” and walked the streets of Dublin in
“Ulysses” and made up a hundred stories in the Arabian nights and saw my
mother killed by a baseball in “A Prayer for Owen Meany.” I’ve been in ten
thousand cities and have introduced myself to a hundred thousand strangers
in my exuberant reading career, all because I listened to my fabulous
English teachers and soaked up every single thing those magnificent men and
women had to give. I cherish and praise them and thank them for finding me
when I was a boy and presenting me with the precious gift of the English
language. ”
Pat Conroy

“The real heroes are the librarians and teachers who at no small risk to themselves refuse to lie down and play dead for censors.”
Bruce Coville

“The older I got, the smarter my teachers became.”
Ally Carter, Out of Sight, Out of Time

This is  a perfect opportunity for you my readers to tap into your creative section of your cranium create your own quotations about teachers.   Share. Let us see what we can come up with. Or if you have a quote about teachers that has been written by someone else and you would like to share, you are also welcomed to do some.

* quotes taken from  http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/teachers

Leave a Reply

