TEACHER’S PET

26 Jul
My Pet Chanese....i am sharing in her salutatorian moment

My Pet Chanese….i am sharing in her salutatorian moment

“Teacher’s pet! Teacher’s pet! Teacher’s pet…. That’s the familiar chant of children in a school yard.  In the middle of the chanters, crumbled against a wall, or backed into a corner is a student in agony-crying and wishing the others would go away; or he/she is defensively trying to get them to stop.

Does this scenario drag your memory?  Have you ever been accused of the same?  Well I have.   It is one of those moments when you believe in your heart that you are enjoying a great relationship with your teacher but you didn’t think you were a  PET!   or being given preferential treatment.   As I got older, and became an educator, I thought about this and I ask, is there really anything wrong with being a teacher’s pet? What exactly is it.

Who is a Teacher’s Pet?

A student who finds favour with a teacher or authority is often referred to as teacher’s pet.  But what is so wrong about finding favour with a teacher? It means you must be doing something right.    Some persons do not share this view.  As I was writing this article, I came upon this.  He describes a teacher’s pet as:

* “An annoying student who kisses up to the teacher and does a bunch of favors for said teacher in hopes of getting a good grade. The kind of student who raises his hand for every single question and buys expensive gifts for their teacher. This student thinks they are superior to their peers because they are the teacher’s favorite and therefore they bosses everyone around. They will also tattle on their peers for insignificant rules they might break.

*Normal Student eating an apple, not causing harm to anybody*
Teacher’s Pet: “Teacher! Oh teacher! There’s someone eating an apple in the classroom! That’s against the rules!”
Teacher: “Thank you for telling me. *scolds Normal Student*
Normal Student: “Wow, thanks a lot man. What the hell did I ever do to you?”

by Dude678 Jun 25, 2013

I have a few questions about this.

What is so bad about doing favours for your teacher? What is so wrong about raising your hands to answer the questions asked? Why couldn’t it be seen that the student is merely participating in the teaching and learning process?   Why should a rule be seen as insignificant?  If it was not necessary then it would be in the school rules and students must respect that at all times. So why then should a student who is helping to get her classmates to follow the rules be called a teacher’s pet?

These reasons proffered by the writer as to who is a teacher’s pet  are not necessarily wrong but it’s being presented in a negative way.

 

My Confession

I have had several students who were MY pets because they found favour with me.  Two stood out in my memory today: Chanese Hamilton & Sashana Lemard.  There is absolutely nothing that I wouldn’t do for them.  Chanese however was a cut about the rest.   I hear the question, why were they teacher’s pet?   I will tell you.

  1. Both girls were extremely disciplined, respectful  and obeyed both school & classroom rules
  2. Both took on leadership roles without being prompted to do so. These leadership responsibilities were carried out without fear or favour.
  3. Both were responsible and dependable students to whom I could entrust tasks and they were carried out with efficiency.
  4. Assignments were always completed and handed in on time even if they were incorrect.
  5. Always early for school and class.
  6. Chanese was outspoken and when feel wronged, would take her grouses through the appropriate channel instead of being confrontational with authority figures.
  7. Both students got good grades because worked very hard and were never afraid to seek assistance.  Maybe too hard.

I remember when Chanese was preparing for CSEC examinations and sent me the draft of her School based Assessment (SBA) project.  One night I corrected it and sent it back to her via email.  Within the space of an hour, it came back to me with the corrections. I once again went through the document and returned it. Within another hour, the document was returned.   I was shocked! Now I wanted her to be a delinquent by not sending it back at that time. I thought, why won’t this child go to her bed?   Because of her drive, determination and level of focus, I could not sit back and not assess the paper.  When I assessed and returned it for the third time that night, I figured it would have ended there but it didn’t. Within an half of an hour I received an email that said she started the corrections but would not be able to finish it at that time because it was late and was sleepy.   I silently said thank you Jesus.   Yes Chanese I did.

I  want my students to do well and when they are this focus I must ensure that I keep them motivated.  Chanese was very focus and I would not want to be that teacher to hinder her progress.

Chanese was a driven young lady whom you did not have to tell to study. You would see her in her spare time tucked away in a corner studying. I and other teachers would sometimes encourage her to take a break.

The girls were almost perfect students.  Both graduated from fifth form earning diploma with honours.  Chanese did not only graduate with honours but she was the Salutatorian, meaning that of the over three hundred girls in the graduating class, she was placed second. It was a proud moment.  Both girls are currently attending university in United States of America & Canada.  They continue to make me proud.  Why wouldn’t I want them to be teacher’s pet?

It was obvious I loved the two girls as I did not hide my affection.  The human side of me, the nurturing mom would not have allowed me to.  The class Chanese was apart of was one of my favourite classes so I loved them all but I had a special spot for Chanese and this was because of the qualities she exuded.  Mind you, they were not above reprimand. As a matter of fact, reprimand for them was more severe than the others. If you ask they will tell you.  They would often say to the delight of the other students “miss your love is tough”.

Role of Teachers

As educators, if you notice that there are students with whom you interact that possess these traits and more, you need to help them continue to succeed.   If you find that you have a special place in your heart for student/s do not think anything is wrong with it or it is deem professional misconduct.   Love them.  It is only natural that your spirit will be warm to students who exhibit certain qualities but you must always remember your duty to them. Do not allow your affection to cloud your judgement. They should not be given preferential treatment but be guided.  It therefore means if the entire class is being punished for an action, they too should be involved.  If they step out of line, they should be reprimanded.   As you love and carve special places in your hearts for these students, be mindful however of how you interact in presence of other students. They are young and they all need love. You do not want the rest of your students to feel neglected or unloved; even the student that gives the most trouble.   If this happened, it may be a breeding ground for negative self-esteem or the development of anger and resentment.

Students do not be afraid to be branded as being a teacher’s pet.   It is not necessarily a bad thing.  Just keep exhibiting good qualities because these qualities that give the label of teacher’s pet, are the same ones that will make you individuals of choice in this global world.

If you can relate to this, please share your thoughts and experience.

* Information in quotation was retrieved from this website.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Teacher%27s%20pet

2 Responses to “TEACHER’S PET”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TEACHER’S PET | educatordorrainereidinspires - August 14, 2013

    […] TEACHER’S PET. […]

  2. CSEC WAKE-UP CALL | Reid & Write with Dorraine - August 14, 2015

    […] of the first persons to share that with. How can I not be touched by this? My Teacher’s Pet. https://educatorrainereidinspires.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/teachers-pet/ This girl graduated high school diploma with honours, now she ACED her CSEC examinations. Look out […]

Leave a Reply

