TRIBUTE TO DR MAYA ANGELOU

2 Jun

When, she gasp her last breath, lightening flashed miserably; thunder roared angrily; wind blew fiercely; tears of God poured wildly; then the world became dark and still…even nature mourned. ( well so I think).

As an aspirant to be quite prolific with pen and words, my heart broke when news broke that literary icon Maya Angelou has decided to go up yonder. Each time I attempt to write or think about writing, your words ring in my ears “I want to be such a good writer that a person will be 30-40 pages before realizing they are reading”. Deep stuff, wouldn’t you say? Oh yes. Deep but quite profound. As a lover of words, it would be remiss of me to not pay tribute to you using what you do best…THE SPOKEN WORDS.

 

TRIBUTE TO DR MAYA ANGELOU

literary greatness

 

Dr Maya Angelou, at your sunrise Earth gained the most powerful voice that speaks loudly with a pen;

how long it would speak, we knew not then.

Words fail me to express my heart’s hummings;

My pen paused to think of my mind’s runnings;

Dazedly I think of something profound to say;

One conclusion: this writer’s block has my love for you betrayed.

 

The time clock stopped when few days ago

A most brilliant mind pen ink ceases to flow;

The silence of your pen tapping is agonizing

Your mind I can no longer see.

Soul-full food for thought that once satiated my appetite I will forever crave;

as your cuisine with words at my literary feast will no longer be.

 

It takes only a phenomenal woman to rise even when you have been beaten with bitter twisted lies;

Only you know why the cage birds sing and how their melodic songs sits on ear lobes and pecks at the hearts of many.

 

Dr Maya Angelou, now that your sunset has come, I declare Earth has lost a powerful voice that speaks loudly with a pen;dare I say this void will end, we know not when.  R.I.P

 

Take a moment and join me here by leaving your tributes to this great literary icon.

One Response to “TRIBUTE TO DR MAYA ANGELOU”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TRIBUTE TO DR MAYA ANGELOU | educatordorrainereidinspires - June 2, 2014

    […] TRIBUTE TO DR MAYA ANGELOU. […]

Leave a Reply

