A TEACHER’S TIME

25 Oct

I never intended to have stayed in the classroom. I was suppose to teach for three years and then make my exit or so I thought. More than ten years later, I am still here.

There exists several assumptions that teachers are lazy and do very little work. In a dialogue with a friend – who is not a teacher-  he revealed that teachers are indeed lazy, and do not work enough hours in a day, gets too much holiday, and a host of other babble-about-nothing.

As I reflected on the conversation, it had me thinking and I realize just how much of my time I have given to my students. I was therefore compelled to share some of the these things with you, and discover how you spend some of your time as a teacher.

A teacher is always thinking about the next step

I spend all night thinking of strategies to motivate students to learn.

I spend every alleged ‘free time’ thinking what activities I should use for a particular lesson.

I spend my hours thinking how to handle the student who is emotionally and psychologically destroyed and has reached out to me for help.

I spend every waking moment thinking what am I going to do with the confidential information that students have bestowed upon me without breaking that trust.

I spend my holidays, afternoons, and nights marking papers, and designing plans just to reach that one student who is falling behind.

I spend my hours parenting students outside of regular school hours because parents simple cannot cope, and they needed me to help their child.

I spend my time planning my budget for the week to include that one child who will always come asking for lunch money. Each day I pack my lunch bag, I put something extra in it- not for me, but for the child who will come searching for me in a state of hunger.

I spend my time sacrificing to save an extra dollar to pay for at least two (2) CSEC subjects per student.

I spend my time watching, and nursing the child who is too ill to be at school but parents send him/her anyway.

I spend my time thinking how to help a student to see the best in him/herself.

Simply put, teachers spend most of their time taking care of student’s needs – whether they are at school or otherwise. I can hear some saying it is their job and they are getting paid to it; But teachers are also humans who need time for themselves and their families. For some teachers their families are often left behind because the teachers are often busy with other children.

If you are a teacher, or you know anyone who is a teacher, share what do you or they spend most of your time doing?

*image taken from google image

7 Responses to “A TEACHER’S TIME”

  1. Dwayne Plummer October 25, 2015 at 6:17 am #

    I used to think teaching is the most ideal because of the paid holidays. I started college in Jamaica to earn my teaching degree. However, after I came to the US and spoke with some friends who are teachers, I changed my area of study because I realized that teaching is a lot more difficult than it seem. Even though the knowledge teachers instill in students can help to make those students millionaires, the teachers themselves do not even get pay the salary they deserve. Teachers take their work with them to their homes, vacation and even on dates ( in thoughts). Teaching should be higher on the hierarchy of prestigious jobs because it takes special people to be excellent teachers. Administrators……. GIVE THE TEACHERS THE PAY THEY DESERVE (a lot more).

    • rainereid October 25, 2015 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts Dwayne. This is how the education sector lose some brilliant minds.

  2. mssmith321 October 25, 2015 at 5:37 pm #

    Wow, I read your article and I can relate! Thank you for your post :>)
    I taught for 8 years and took a year off to do something else, but missed the kids so much I went back this year. I as well spend my days and nights working on lessons, thinking about how to motivate the students, looking for new ideas, fun activities, and so on. I hate that most nights I do not get home until 8-10 PM and still stay up another 2-3 hours working! It made me feel better though the other day when my own children 15 and 17 said “mom, it’s ok, it will get better. This is your first year back and you have a lot to do.” They went on to say at least you care and want your students to learn. They both indicated they have had teachers who didn’t care or do anything to help them or teach them. Teaching is a very hard job with endless hours of work. We teach during the school day, plan 3 days a week, meetings and trainings after school, not to mention tutoring, and other activities.
    So kudos to all the teachers out there who care and work so hard to make a difference in a child’s life! I don’t do it for the holidays off, because I usually work during those times as well. I teach, because I know it is the most important thing I can do in this world and I love kids!

    • rainereid October 25, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

      Thank you mssmith321 for sharing your experience. Teaching is indeed a hard task. I hope your return to the classroom will be as fulfilling as you want it to be.

  3. Georgia Dockery October 26, 2015 at 12:33 am #

    Empty barrels make the most noise. Some of these bystanders who make their cynical comments are simply ignorant and hence doesnt even deserve an acknowledgement. We’re the only profession that is comprised of other profession. A doctor is simply a doctor and so is a lawyer. A teacher on the other hand is a teacher, lawyer, doctor caregiver, police, nurse, etc all in one body and in one day. It’s the only profession that follows you wherever you go. You are constantly thinking about what to do next. I am a teacher in every sense of the word.

    • rainereid October 26, 2015 at 5:43 am #

      Thanks for sharing Georgia. I agree with you

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A TEACHER’S TIME | Reid & Write with Dorraine - October 25, 2015

    […] Source: A TEACHER’S TIME […]

Leave a Reply

